Game Design – Week 8 – Logic, Flowcharts, and Coding

Binary code
“Binary code” by Christiaan Colen is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

When asked the most important thing I should teach my students, the MIT student I was interviewing simply stated , ‘ teach them logic.’ – Mr. Le Duc

SUMMARY

  • I learned about unity, the game platform I plan to use. I also learned about the process of making a game.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

Unity

Screenshot from Sololearn.com

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Image from https://monkeyblogmonkeydo.com/2010/07/19/so-duh-pop-quiz-classic-video-game-flowchart-edition/
  • there are certain symbols for certain things in a flow chart
  • oval is start other oval is terminator which is the end
  • rhombus is decisions or choices where the user is normally asked a question
  • square is process or action
  • square with squiggles is a document symbol
  • you need to keep the flow going
Screenshot from Brandon Grasley’s Youtube channel
Screenshot from todaystuts’ Youtube

Mr. Le Duc’s Flowchart Shape Guide

More Flowchart Creation Resources

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1s7tJwwdM4gqSum0AsurhW0P8MBkirz7m/view?usp=sharing

  • I learned that creating a flowchart is easy and that you really need to pay attention and make sure that everything is linking up.

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • Always try your best no matter if your best was yesterday
  • Keep trying keep doing work
  • After a great success don’t be intimadated

STUDIO (GAME DESIGN)

Unity

Screenshot from Unity.com

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • I learned how flowcharts work , what the symbols mean and how to make it flow.
  • I learned that you should always keep going even if you think that you already did your best work like the example of Elizabeth Gilbert
  • I got my homework done.

WEEKLY ACTIVITY EVALUATION

  • There where a lot of videos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *